ViewMaker Screencast Now Live for Laravel 5.2

Access all tutorials in sprocket icon.

Published June 1, 2016 by Bill Keck.

ViewMaker Screencast Now Live for Laravel 5.2

ViewMaker is off to a good start, we already have over 100 installs. So I decided to support it with a screencast.

In part one, I go through installation and setup of ViewMaker.

It’s a lot of fun to make a screencast, but I have to say, I’m nowhere near the professional level of Laracasts. It’s a little low energy, compared to how my brain actually operates, and I sort of sound like a stroke victim…

Anyway, that’s ok, as long as the information is clear, we all have to start somewhere. I will get better at it as I continue to make videos.

Making a screencast, as raw as it is, is more fun than writing just a blog, so I will probably be doing more tutorials on screencasts than blogs in the future.

I especially want to support ViewMaker, which has a powerful set of artisan commands that will generate a lot of code for you quickly. I’m having a lot of fun with that and I think you will like it too.

In ViewMaker for Laravel part 2, I demonstrate the make:master command and the make:foundation command. The make:master command sets all the dependencies for make:foundation and the two commands can be run in under a minute, which will get you a fully working crud app, with a vue.js datagrid.

If you want to learn how to implement a vue.js datagrid with searchable, sortable, and paginated rows, use ViewMaker to create a foundation, then look at the underlying code. I demonstrate this in part 2:

I’m hoping the screen cast helps people learn the ViewMaker commands quickly. I will be doing videos for all the commands in the next few weeks. I also have a tutorial on the Github page, which has very thorough documentation.

I hope you find ViewMaker useful. I don’t have a donate button, but If you would like to support my work and learn more about Laravel, you can do so by buying one of my books, Laraboot: laravel 5.2 For Beginners, I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

